REVEALED: The 2021 AFLW All-Australian team


COLLINGWOOD'S charge to a preliminary final has been reflected with four All-Australian selections, led by the newly crowned All-Australian captain Brianna Davey.

The Pies had the most players picked of any side, with first-time selections Brit Bonnici and Ruby Schleicher and Chloe Molloy – who has now been selected as both a defender and forward – joining Davey.

Star Fremantle midfielder Kiara Bowers has been named vice-captain of the team, with teammate Janelle Cuthbertson joining her in the 21.

It caps a remarkable rise for the former tennis player, who is in just her third year of competitive football.

Docker Janelle Cuthbertson with her All-Australian award. Picture: Getty Images

In a demonstration of the evenness of the side, just one Brisbane player has been named after winning the flag, with defender Kate Lutkins picking up her third All-Australian guernsey.

North Melbourne's Emma Kearney and Melbourne's Karen Paxman have been recognised for a fifth consecutive year, the only players to have featured in every edition of the AFLW All-Australian side.

Demon Karen Paxman with her All-Australian award. Picture: AFL Photos

Six debutants in total were named in the 21: Bonnici, Schleicher, Cuthbertson, Breann Moody, Georgia Patrikios and Katie Brennan.

Geelong skipper Meg McDonald has capped off a tough season with her second All-Australian berth.

Those who missed out on the final team after being named in the squad of 40 include Izzy Huntington, Gemma Houghton, Lauren Pearce, Ash Riddell and Stacey Livingstone.

The 2021 AFL Women’s All Australian Team was selected by a panel, comprising the following:

  • Nicole Livingstone (Chair, AFL)
  • Steve Hocking (AFL)
  • Josh Vanderloo (AFL)
  • Kelli Underwood (Fox Footy)
  • Sarah Black (
  • Tim Harrington (AFLPA)
  • Shelley Ware (media commentator)
  • Sharelle McMahon (media commentator)
  • Courtney Cramey (former Adelaide Crows AFLW player)
  • Melissa Hickey (former Geelong FC and Melbourne AFLW player)