Power move: Phillips to captain Port in inaugural season

AFLW champion Erin Phillips will captain Port Adelaide in its inaugural season.

Phillips co-captained Adelaide from 2017 to 2020 alongside Chelsea Randall, and crossed to the Power ahead of their first season.

The 37-year-old will lead an experienced leadership group including ex-Adelaide vice-captain Ange Foley, former Gold Coast skipper Hannah Dunn, strong Indigenous leader Gemma Houghton and Adelaide premiership star Justine Mules.

Phillips' father Greg played 343 games for Port Adelaide between 1976 and 1993, captaining the club himself in the process.

AFLW FIXTURE Who does your team play in season seven?

"It is a huge honour to be named captain of Port Adelaide," Phillips said.

"I feel incredibly privileged to be trusted to lead this amazing group of women, both on and off the field this season.

"My dad always said to me the only thing better than playing for this club is being captain of this club, and he was right.

Erin Phillips after signing with Port Adelaide for their upcoming inaugural AFLW season, at Alberton Oval on April 27, 2022. Picture: Getty Images

"Telling him the news that I had been named captain was a very special and emotional moment for both of us. I'm so excited to be following in his footsteps and can't wait to lead the team onto the ground for the first time. It will be yet another special moment for this group and for Port Adelaide."

YOUR CLUB’S LIST Every team locked in for AFLW season seven

The Power are the first of the four expansion sides to name their captain, with Essendon, Hawthorn and Sydney still to announce their leader.