AFLW practice matches locked in, schedule to mirror AFL R22

AFLW practice matches will run during round 22 of the AFL, with all clubs facing the same opponent across both competitions.

It will the mark the first time all 18 clubs will have both men's and women's sides taking to the field, as well as playing the same teams.

The fixtures don't exactly line up with each other, but the Western Derby will now feature a West Coast-Fremantle clash beforehand, while Richmond and Hawthorn fans can watch their AFLW sides at the Swinburne Centre before heading up to the MCG.

Players from each club's AFL and AFLW teams pose for a photo at the MCG on July 21, 2022. Picture: AFL Photos

"Our competition is finally whole, and these practice matches will be the first time we will have 36 teams playing across one weekend," AFL general manager of women's football Nicole Livingstone said.

"While there won’t be premiership points on the line, the practice matches are another significant moment in Australian Football history, as it signifies the symmetry across both the men’s and women’s competitions.

"Fans of will get their first look at their teams, with Port Adelaide, Hawthorn, Sydney and Essendon fans (having) the opportunity for the very first time.

"Season seven kicks off in one month’s time and with it brings four new clubs, 120 new players, thousands of new members and an exciting new chapter in the journey of women’s football."

AFL STATEMENT AFLW practice matches locked in for round 22

Clubs will also take part in match simulation the weekend prior, with round one to kick off on Thursday August 25.

Details around ticketing and streaming of practice matches are yet to be confirmed.


Friday 12th August

St Kilda v Brisbane at RSEA Park, 3:30pm AEST

Saturday, 13 August

Adelaide v North Melbourne at Norwood Oval (Coopers Stadium), 10:00am ACST

Essendon v Port Adelaide at The NEC Hangar, 11:00am AEST

Western Bulldogs v Greater Western Sydney at VU Whitten Oval, 11:30am AEST

Gold Coast v Geelong Cats at Austworld Centre Oval, 1:30pm AEST

Sydney v Collingwood at Blacktown International Sports Park, 1:00pm AEST

Carlton v Melbourne at IKON Park, 3:15pm AEST

Fremantle v West Coast at Optus Stadium, 2:40pm AWST

Sunday, 14 August

Richmond v Hawthorn at Swinburne Centre Punt Road Oval, 11:00am AEST