Day one's expansion signings: 28 players make it official with new clubs

The AFL wishes to advise the following paperwork has been formally lodged with the league as part of the 2022 AFLW Expansion Signing Period as of 5:00 pm today, Tuesday, May 24.

Day 1 approved signings


  • Sophie Alexander (from Collingwood)
  • Stephanie Cain (from Fremantle)
  • Joanne Doonan
  • Federica Frew
  • Georgia Gee (from Carlton)
  • Danielle Marshall
  • Georgia Nanscawen
  • Madison Prespakis (from Carlton)
  • Caitlin Sargent
  • Bonnie Toogood (from the Western Bulldogs)
  • Jordan Zanchetta


  • Zoe Barbakos
  • Dominique Carbone
  • Jess Duffin (from North Melbourne)
  • Bridget Deed
  • Tahlia Fellows
  • Sophie Locke
  • Matilda Lucas-Rodd (from St Kilda)
  • Sarah Perkins (from the Gold Coast SUNS)
  • Jenna Richardson
  • Eliza Shannon
  • Louise Stephenson (from GWS GIANTS)


  • Laquoiya Cockatoo-Motlap
  • Litonya Cockatoo-Motlap
  • Angela Foley (from the Adelaide Crows)
  • Gemma Houghton (from Fremantle)
  • Maria Moloney (from the Brisbane Lions)
  • Justine Mules (from the Adelaide Crows)

Key dates for AFLW Season Seven List Management

Tuesday, May 24 

Expansion Signing Period commences (9am AEST)

Rookie Signing Period commences (9am AEST)

Monday, May 30

Expansion Signing Period concludes (2pm AEST)

Draft order revised for expansion impacts

Tuesday, May 31 

Sign and Trade Period commences (9am AEST)

Wednesday, June 8

Sign and Trade Period concludes (3pm AEST)

Thursday, June 9

Delisted Free Agency period commences (11am AEST)

List Lodgement #1 (4pm AEST)

Friday, June 10

Restricted Free Agency period closes (3pm AEST)

List Lodgement #2 (4pm AEST)

Thursday, June 16

List Lodgement #3

Saturday, June 25

Final draft order confirmed

Wednesday June 29

2022 NAB AFLW Draft

Monday, July 4

Final list lodgement