SA, Vic Metro dominate U18 AFLW All-Australian team

SOUTH Australia's powerhouse showing at the NAB AFLW Under-18 Championships has been reflected in the NAB AFLW Under-18 All-Australian team.

A whopping eight of 24 selected players are South Australian, with coach Tim Weatherald also recognised for his achievements.

Five of the eight – Hannah Ewings, Keeley Kustermann, Amelie Borg, Sarah Goodwin and Sachi Syme – are eligible for this year's draft, which will feature Port Adelaide for the first time.


Vic Metro – which dropped just the one match to South Australia – were also well-represented with six players named, all of whom are eligible for this year's draft.

Two potential 2024 draftees – South Australian Georgia McKee (16) and Queenslander Havana Harris (still 15, 16 in July) – also made the cut, named in the forward line, while 2023 eligible players are Shineah Goody and Matilda Scholz.

PLAYER MOVEMENT Who's going? Who's staying? All the latest news

Goody was named player of the championships for her efforts over South Australia's three matches, averaging 26.7 disposals and 4.7 clearances and kicking six goals.

Cynthia Hamilton and Ella Roberts are now two-time Under-18 All-Australians, having also been recognised last year.

The side was selected by Kevin Sheehan (AFL talent ambassador, chairperson), Tarkyn Lockyer (NAB AFLW Academy coach), Georgia Harvey (Essendon), Trent Mosbey (Richmond), Todd Patterson (Melbourne), Katrina Gill (Adelaide), Anthony Tang (St Kilda), Mitch Cashion (Hawthorn) and Jess Smith (AFLW talent and competition manager).