MVP Awards: Pie pips Docker for top gong, best captain revealed

COLLINGWOOD co-captain Brianna Davey has capped off an outstanding season with the AFLPA Most Valuable Player award.

An injury-free pre-season set the 26-year-old up perfectly for her strong 2021, polling 319 votes to just pip Fremantle powerhouse Kiara Bowers (313).

The pair were far and away recognised as the best two players of the year, with Ellie Blackburn coming in third with 214 votes.


"Bri is resilient and very dedicated to her craft. She’s been tasked with adversity and tough times over the journey through injury, but she’s persevered to piece together this amazing season," fellow Pies co-captain Steph Chiocci said.

"It takes a lot of stop her. I’ve seen her storm through one, two, three tackles and dish the ball out and not many girls can do that. Then you’ll have her smothering the ball, laying a tackle herself and it inspires the girls."

Being Erin: How an AFLW superstar stays positive

06:33 Apr 14. 2021. 7:06 AM

Erin Phillips reveals her life tips and secrets to success

Three players from each club are nominated by their teammates for the award, with players then casting 3-2-1 votes across the list. They are unable to vote for their teammates in the second portion of voting.

Blackburn's leadership in steering a young Western Bulldogs side up the ladder was recognised with the Best Captain Award, ahead of Daisy Pearce and Davey.

Adelaide skipper Chelsea Randall's stronghold on the Most Courageous award continued, taking the accolade out for a fourth time in five years.

The only time Randall has failed to win the award was when she sat out 2020 with a torn ACL.

She took out the award from tenacious Bulldog Kirsty Lamb and Carlton forward Nicola Stevens.

Richmond's Ellie McKenzie was named Best First Year Player; last year's number one pick winning from best mate and number two selection Jess Fitzgerald, with lively Lion Courtney Hodder in third.

AFLW Players’ Most Valuable Player
Brianna Davey, Collingwood – 319 votes
Kiara Bowers, Fremantle – 313
Ellie Blackburn, Western Bulldogs – 214

Most Courageous
Chelsea Randall, Adelaide – 117
Kirsty Lamb, Western Bulldogs – 69
Nicola Stevens, Carlton – 27

Best Captain
Ellie Blackburn, Western Bulldogs – 86
Daisy Pearce, Melbourne – 62
Brianna Davey, Collingwood – 44

Best First-Year Player Award
Ellie McKenzie, Richmond – 137
Jess Fitzgerald, Western Bulldogs – 63
Courtney Hodder, Brisbane – 56

GET YOUR TICKETS Why you must secure your seat in advance