2023 AFLW Priority Signing Period summary

The AFLW Priority Signing Period (PSP) has concluded, with the eight following players signed to a new club.

The AFLW Sign and Trade Period commences on Friday 10 March (12pm) and closes on Monday 20 March (5pm).

Players signed during the PSP:


Brooke Brown

  • Signed from North Melbourne Tasmanian Kangaroos Football Club
  • Key defender
  • 24 career matches
  • Formerly played with North Melbourne (VFLW), Launceston (Tasmanian State League), and Ulverstone (Tasmanian State League)


Greta Bodey

  • Signed from the Brisbane Lions Football Club
  • Medium forward
  • 42 career matches, 35 career goals
  • 2021 Premiership player, 2022 All Australian (S7), 2022 All Australian Squad (S6), 2022 Club leading goal kicker (S6), 2022 Best and Fairest Runner Up (S6)
  • Formerly played with the University of Queensland (AFL Queensland)

Emily Bates

  • Signed from Brisbane Lions Football Club
  • Midfielder
  • 66 career matches
  • 2021 Premiership player, 2022 AFLW League Best and Fairest (S6), 3x All Australian (2017, 2018, 2022 S6), 4x Club Champion (2017, 2020, 2022 S6, 2022 S7), 2022 AFLCA Champion Player of the Year (S6), 2022 AFLPA MVP (S6)
  • Formerly played with Yeronga South Brisbane (AFL Queensland) and Yeronga Juniors (AFL Brisbane Juniors)

Port Adelaide

Janelle Cuthbertson

  • Signed from Fremantle Football Club
  • Key defender
  • 24 career matches
  • 2021 All Australian
  • Formerly played with Subiaco (West Australian Football League) and Perth Angels (West Australian Football League)

Matilda Scholz

  • Signed from Glenelg Football Club in the SANFLW
  • Ruck
  • Mitcham (SANFL Juniors)

Ashleigh Woodland

  • Signed from the Adelaide Crows, formerly Melbourne Football Club
  • Key forward
  • 40 career matches, 44 career goals
  • 2022 Premiership player (S6), 2022 All Australian (S6), 2022 Leading Goal Kicker (S6), and two-time club leading goal kicker (2022 S6 and 2022 S7)
  • Formerly Melbourne Football Club (AFL), North Adelaide (SANFL) and Salisbury (Adelaide Footy League)

Sydney Swans

Lucy McEvoy

  • Signed from Carlton Football Club
  • Medium defender
  • 33 career matches
  • Rising Star nominee in R1 2020, pick two in the 2019 AFLW Draft.
  • Formerly Carlton (VFLW), Geelong (VFLW), Geelong Falcons (Coates Talent League), St Mary's (AFL Barwon), Barwon Heads (AFL Barwon) and Ocean Grove Cobras (AFL Barwon)

Chloe Molloy

  • Signed from Collingwood Football Club
  • Midfielder forward
  • 47 career matches, 37 career goals
  • Two-time All Australian (2018 and 2021), 2022 All Australian squad (S7), 2018 Rising Star, 2018 Club champion, Two-time club leading goal kicker (2021 and 2022 S6), and 2018 AFLPA Best First Year Player.
  • Formerly played with Collingwood (VFLW) Diamond Creek Women's (VFLW) Calder Cannons (Coates Talent League) Whittlesea (Northern Football Netball League)