All-Australian squad: Lions dominate, stalwarts feature again, Dee snubbed

BRISBANE names litter the AFLW season seven All-Australian squad with six inclusions, after the club's dominant campaign in which it finished atop the ladder. 

Captain Breanna Koenen, competition leading goalkicker Jesse Wardlaw, ruck Tahlia Hickie, rebounder Natalie Grider, small forward Greta Bodey and inaugural midfielder Ally Anderson are the Lions named, each of whom have had a significant impact on the side's push for a second flag. 

AFLW FINALS Get your tickets now

Four other finalists – Adelaide, Geelong, Melbourne, and Richmond – boast four inclusions, while three clubs – Hawthorn, Sydney, and Port Adelaide – are not represented. 

All-Australian stalwart Emma Kearney has once again made the squad, with the potential to be selected for the seventh straight season, and Melbourne star Karen Paxman has the chance to be named in the side for the sixth time. 

Emma Kearney handballs during North Melbourne's clash against Port Adelaide in round eight, S7, 2022. Picture: AFL Photos

Three rucks have been named, with Hickie, 2021 All-Australian Breann Moody and swift improver Alice Edmonds all recognised for their efforts. 

Seventeen players are in the squad for the first time including Geelong spearhead Chloe Scheer, rebounding Richmond draftee Eilish Sheerin, St Kilda leading goalkicker Kate Shierlaw and intercepting Western Bulldog Katie Lynch. 

After winning her first club best and fairest on Saturday, former No.1 draft pick Charlie Rowbottom has earned her first selection to the squad, as has Crows forward-turned-defender Chelsea Biddell, who has led Adelaide for intercepts this season. 

For her first season played mostly through the middle, Chloe Molloy has been added to the squad for the third time, after being named All-Australian as a defender (2018) and forward (2021) in the past, while Collingwood teammates Jordyn Allen and Lauren Butler have been recognised for the first time. 

Chloe Molloy kicks the ball during Collingwood's elimination final against the Western Bulldogs in S7, 2022. Picture: Getty Images

Essendon is the only expansion side with players represented as co-captain Bonnie Toogood and former competition best and fairest Maddy Prespakis have both been named.  

The younger Prespakis, Georgie, has also been recognised for the first time, with the pair the first sisters named in an All-Australian squad. 

Midfield dynamos Emily Bates (Brisbane), Abbie McKay (Carlton), Eliza West (Melbourne), and Tilly Lucas-Rodd (Hawthorn), as well as Eagles key defender Sophie McDonald, have missed out on the squad despite strong seasons. 

Tilly Lucas-Rodd of Hawthorn tackles Alexandra Anderson of Brisbane in their side's round nine, S7 clash at SkyBus Stadium. Picture: Getty Images

A squad of 42 has been named for the first time, extended from the previous tradition of 40, doubling the eventual team of 21 to mirror the men's system which this year extended to 44 to double the selected 22. 


Adelaide: Chelsea Biddell, Anne Hatchard, Ebony Marinoff, Chelsea Randall
Brisbane: Ally Anderson, Greta Bodey, Natalie Grider, Tahlia Hickie, Breanna Koenen, Jesse Wardlaw
Carlton: Vaomua Laloifi, Breann Moody
Collingwood: Jordyn Allen, Lauren Butler, Chloe Molloy
Essendon: Maddy Prespakis, Bonnie Toogood
Fremantle: Kiara Bowers
Geelong: Amy McDonald, Meghan McDonald, Georgie Prespakis, Chloe Scheer
Gold Coast: Charlie Rowbottom, Vivien Saad
Greater Western Sydney: Alyce Parker
Hawthorn: None
Melbourne: Tayla Harris, Kate Hore, Karen Paxman, Olivia Purcell
North Melbourne: Jenna Bruton, Jasmine Garner, Emma Kearney
Port Adelaide: None
Richmond: Monique Conti, Ellie McKenzie, Eilish Sheerin, Courtney Wakefield
St Kilda: Bianca Jakobsson, Kate Shierlaw
Sydney: None
West Coast: Emma Swanson
Western Bulldogs: Ellie Blackburn, Alice Edmonds, Katie Lynch


Nicole Livingstone (chairperson), Sarah Black, Sam Virgo, Andrew Dillon, Laura Kane, Kelli Underwood, Megan Waters, Narelle Smith and Tim Harrington.