Former judo star Swan, Port defender nab round 10 Rising Star noms

SYDNEY'S Cynthia Hamilton and Port Adelaide's Indy Tahau are the final nominees for season seven's NAB AFLW Rising Star award.

Hamilton, 18, was a top junior in New South Wales, having come through Greater Western Sydney's Academy program as a Queanbeyan product from the ACT.

She was selected with pick No.11 in the 2022 NAB AFLW Draft – the third overall selection in the NSW pool – and made an immediate impact at the top level.

Cynthia Hamilton and Indy Tahau star in round ten

02:43 Oct 31. 2022. 4:50 PM

Watch the highlights and find out why Cynthia Hamilton and Indy Tahau are nominated for the NAB AFLW Rising Star in round ten

The former Australian junior judo representative is unsurprisingly a fierce tackler with a strong attack on the footy, and has played mostly forward in her debut season.

Saturday's match against Geelong saw Hamilton spend much more time on the ball, recording a team-high 19 disposals (13 contested possessions), five clearances and three involvements in the Swans' seven scoring shots.

Cynthia Hamilton and Mim Strong contest the ball in the air during round nine, season seven, 2022. Picture: AFL Photos

Tahau is now in her third season of AFLW, having started her career at Brisbane and being selected with pick No.37 in 2020.

Having family in both Queensland and South Australia, she returned back to Adelaide – where she had played her junior footy – for Port Adelaide's first AFLW season.

A premiership key defender in her first season, the 20-year-old has held her own in a tough inaugural season for the Power, rewarded for a consistent 10-round performance.

Against Essendon, Tahau recorded eight disposals at 75 per cent efficiency in heavy rain, six intercept possessions and two tackles.

The winner of the NAB AFLW Rising Star will be announced at the W Awards on Tuesday, 22 November.

Port Adelaide, Sydney and West Coast each received three nominations this season, while Brisbane, Collingwood, Fremantle, Geelong, North Melbourne, Richmond and St Kilda did not feature.

Indy Tahau tackles Bonnie Toogood during round 10, season seven, 2022. Picture: AFL Photos


  • Abbey Dowrick (Port Adelaide)
  • Paige Scott (Essendon)
  • Daisy D'Arcy (Gold Coast)
  • Abbie Ballard (Adelaide)
  • Hannah Ewings (Port Adelaide)
  • Rylie Wilcox (Western Bulldogs)
  • Montana Ham (Sydney)
  • Keeley Skepper (Carlton)
  • Jasmine Fleming (Hawthorn)
  • Sarah Lakay (West Coast)
  • Ella Roberts (West Coast)
  • Emily Pease (GWS)
  • Charlie Thomas (West Coast)
  • Lucy Wales (Hawthorn)
  • Tarni Evans (GWS)
  • Steph Wales (Essendon)
  • Sofia Hurley (Sydney)
  • Tahlia Gillard (Melbourne)
  • Cynthia Hamilton (Sydney)
  • Indy Tahau (Port Adelaide)