2 min reading time

W Awards

History makers: Magpies co-captain, Dockers superstar share AFLW B&F

W Awards

The W Awards recognises the Best and Fairest, NAB AFLW Rising Star, All Australian Team, Four'N Twenty Mark of the Year, and rebel Goal of the Year. 


NAB AFL Women's Premiers

Year Team
2021 Adelaide Crows 3.2 (20) def by.  Brisbane Lions 6.2 (38)
2019 Adelaide Crows 10.3 (63) def Carlton 2.6 (18)
2018 Western Bulldogs 4.3 (27) def Brisbane Lions 3.3 (21)
2017 Adelaide Crows 4.11 (35) def Brisbane Lions 4.5 (29)


NAB AFL Women's Grand Final Best on Ground Award

Year Player Team
2021 Kate Lutkins Brisbane Lions
2019 Erin Phillips Adelaide Crows
2018 Monique Conti Western Bulldogs
2017 Erin Phillips Adelaide Crows


NAB AFL Women's Rising Star Award

Year Player Team Votes
2021 Tyla Hanks Melbourne 48
2020 Isabel Huntington Western Bulldogs 33
2019 Madison Prespakis  Carlton 49 
2018 Chloe Molloy Collingwood 50
2017 Ebony Marinoff Adelaide Crows 47


NAB AFL Women's Best & Fairest Trophy

The officiating umpires will award votes on a 3,2,1 basis after each match, with votes to be counted as part of the W Awards.

Any player suspended by the AFL during the season will be ineligible to receive the award.

Year Player Team Votes
2021 Kiara Bowers
Brianna Davey
2020 Madison Prespakis  Carlton 15
2019 Erin Phillips  Adelaide Crows 19 
2018 Emma Kearney Western Bulldogs 14
2017 Erin Phillips Adelaide Crows 14


AFLW Leading Goalkicker Award

To be awarded to the player(s) with the highest number of goals during the home-and-away season, and presented at the W Awards.

Year Player Team Goals
2021 Darcy Vescio Carlton 16
2020 Caitlin Greiser St Kilda 10
2019 Stevie-Lee Thompson Adelaide Crows 13 
2018 Brooke Lochland Western Bulldogs 12
2017 Darcy Vescio Carlton 14


AFLW Mark of the Year

Year Player Team
2021 Danielle Ponter Adelaide Crows
2020 Rebecca Privitelli GWS Giants
2019 Tayla Harris Carlton
2018 Tayla Harris Carlton
2017 Darcy Vescio Carlton


AFLW Goal of the Year

Year Player Team
2021 Courtney Hodder Brisbane Lions
2020 Kate Hore Melbourne
2019 Ashley Sharp Fremantle 
2018 Aliesha Newman Melbourne
2017 Erin Phillips Adelaide Crows


2021 AFL Women's All-Australian Team

READ MORE>> REVEALED: The 2021 AFLW All-Australian team


2020 Toyota AFL Women's All-Australian Team


2019 Virgin Australia AFL Women's All-Australian Team


Adelaide: Chelsea Randall, Jess Foley, Marijana Rajcic, Ebony Marinoff, Sarah Allan, Anne Hatchard, Erin Phillips, Stevie-Lee Thompson, Eloise Jones
Brisbane: Ally Anderson, Nat Exon, Kate Lutkins, Jess Wuetschner
Carlton: Kerryn Harrington, Gabbie Pound, Maddie Prespakis, Brianna Davey
Collingwood: Ash Brazill, Jaimee Lambert
Fremantle: Kiara Bowers, Kellie Gibson, Sabreena Duffy, Ebony Antonio, Gemma Houghton, Dana Hooker
Geelong: Meg McDonald, Maddy McMahon
Greater Western Sydney: Alyce Parker, Rebecca Beeson
Melbourne: Tegan Cunningham, Lauren Pearce, Elise O’Dea, Karen Paxman
North Melbourne: Emma King, Jasmine Garner, Emma Kearney, Jenna Bruton, Jess Duffin
Western Bulldogs: Ellie Blackburn, Monique Conti


2018 Virgin Australia AFL Women's All-Australian Team

FB:  COLL - C. Molloy, BL - K. Lutkins

HB:  WB - H. Scott, ADEL - C. Randall (C), FRE - E. Antonio

C:  FRE - D. Hooker, WB - E. Kearney, GWS - A. Eva

HF:  MELB - E. O'Dea, BL - S. Frederick-Traub, WB - B. Lochland

FF:  BL - J. Wuetschner, COLL - C. Bernardi

FOLL:  GWS - E. McKinnon, GWS - C. Gum, MELB - D. Pearce (VC)

I/C:  BL - E. Bates, CARL - T. Harris, MELB - K. Paxman, WB - E. Blackburn, MELB - M. Downie


2017 Virgin Australia AFL Women's All-Australian team

Defenders: Nicola Stevens (Collingwood), Courtney Cramey (Adelaide Crows), Chelsea Randall (Adelaide Crows), Brianna Davey (Carlton), Karen Paxman (Melbourne)

Midfield: Elise O'Dea (Melbourne), Daisy Pearce (Melbourne), Emma Kearney (Western Bulldogs), Emma King (Collingwood), Kara Donnellan (Fremantle), Emily Bates (Brisbane Lions) 

Forwards: Erin Phillips (Adelaide Crows), Sabrina Frederick-Traub (Brisbane Lions), Ellie Blackburn (Western Bulldogs), Sarah Perkins (Adelaide Crows), Darcy Vescio (Carlton)

Interchange: Jessica Dal Pos (Greater Western Sydney), Kate McCarthy (Brisbane Lions), Ebony Marinoff (Adelaide Crows), Tayla Harris (Brisbane Lions), Melissa Hickey (Melbourne), Sam Virgo (Brisbane Lions)

Yokayi Moments Competition

Vote for your favourite AFLW Yokayi Moment for your chance to win an AFL Official Indigenous Game Ball

League Leaders with Nicole Livingstone

Thought-provoking conversations between Nicole Livingstone and women shaping the sports industry

Content Partner

Latest News